Showing posts with label FLY. Show all posts
Showing posts with label FLY. Show all posts

Monday, July 14, 2008

My Stems...and Other Happenings

An update on my stem de-hairing. Veet is pretty nifty stuff! As promised on their website my hair didn't feel prickly the next day. In fact, yesterday was the first day I felt really any hair. And its surprisingly already longish. It got past the poke-y part to go straight to the long soft spot, its aMAZing!

I wonder...can I use it in other places (armits, bikini line)? It doesn't say not to...hmmm.

Other Happenings

Today I start my two weeks of Tina free office work. Its both a blessing and a curse. A blessing because I don't have to deal with her mood swings and lack of pregnancy woes. A curse, because I don't have anything to do and can't halep anyone due to the fact that Tina keeps everything of office importance to herself. I get all the gossip and what not that I could hope for, but nothing of office value. No real responsibilities. I'm not sure why, but I think it could be that she doesn't want to let go of the control she has over things. Which is fine...until she isn't here to be the brains of the operation. Ah well, I suppose I might try and tidy her desk a bit. AS a surprise for when she gets back.

I'm flutter-FLYing again. I fell off the band wagon for a little bit. I think the babysteps were just a bit to slow. I mean, I get the point, but sometimes you just gotta jump in there I think. So that's what I did this time. I'm only doing the things I know I can handle, but I'm jumping right in. Skipped the whole post-it note thing this time and went straight for the Control Journal. My post-its just seemed angry at me and made me guilty. The Journal is a better system (I don't know why, it just works that way!) I'm swish and swiping my bathrooms clean and its a great feeling. I get happy everytime I'm in the bathroom!

Ohh! I'm also gearing up for my semi-annual trip to the parent's house on Aug. 1st. Paul is coming with me which is the first time in over a year that he'll be home with me. Everyone is so excited to see/meet him. Its funny, I say I'm coming and everyone goes "Is Paul coming?" I'm clearly loved. Ah well. I've got all kinds of fun stuff in the works. Here is a look at my starter schedule:
7/31: Drive 8 hours to get home at midnight. This would require some schedule changes at work but would result in a whole extra day with the family instead of a day wasted in the car. Granted, we could always leave reeeeeaaaaally early on Friday (Like at 5am and then we'd still make it to my parent's house by...1pm. Hmm if we left at 4am that arrival time could be noon and we'd miss evening traffic on a Friday and have the majority of a day left. Plus I wouldn't be skimping on the job situation. This plan could be a possibility. With 2 drivers it just might work. Plus if one of us is sleeping half the time it wouldn't seem nearly so long of a drive.... I like it.)
8/1: Spend the day seeing people in town and helping mom eliminate stress pre-party.
8/2: Continue to help get everything ready for Devynn's grad party, then whoop it up in her honor with family, old and new friends.
8/3 - 8/6: Assorted fun activities, including...but not limited to --> a double date with Devynn and Charles, a mother-daughter girls night out with Jackie, Nancy, Jen, myself and our mothers, and baby-sightings of the choir girls (aka new mommy Becca and new mommy-to-be Elisabeth).
8/7: Drive back up north for a restful evening at home before work the next day.

I'm really kind of liking that early early start idea. I'll have to discuss it with Paul, but I think it would be awesome. I mean, we'd spend the first few hours on back roads up north so no traffic and probably very few cops. Lets see...at 7pm we be...still pretty far north so no rush hour traffic in the city. Ooo this could be awesome! And if we packed the car before we left, all we'd have to do would be to stumble out to the car at 4am. The driver could grab some caffeine and breakfast while the other person cashed out in the backseat. Switch out 4 hours later and everyone would get plenty of sleep. So excited to tell Paul!!

ALright. WIth that excitement and flurry of planning, I'm gonna sign off. I think I've got some menu planning and shopping lists to make up.

Lots of Love,
~*Ery*~

Tuesday, July 01, 2008

Sunny Day

Its gorgeous out!! THe sun is shining there is a light breeze and its warm! Lucky for me all I have to do today is work 12 hours (hmm sarcasm much?). On the upside I do get to buy a pair of cute shoes and make yummy dinner. I'm happy.

I planned a week's menu last night. It was hard to get into, but in the end I found that it really helped with grocery shopping. I didn't buy anything I didn't need (although I forgot rice, so I'll have to substitute a different starch). Plus I've already thought of starches and veggies to go with each dinner. Most will have leftovers for work the next day and I even planned meals for when Paul is gone to camp. This way, I can eat the stuff I like, without making him feel like he has to eat a PB&J sandwich for dinner.

So I decided that the easiest way for me to do some of the FLYlady stuff was to do the babysteps as proscribed and then add in a couple more. Like the menu planning. I don't even know when that would start happening, but it sounded fun. Why not do something fun? I mean, if its enjoyable it can't be work, right? Hopefully that logic holds.

Ooo! Yesterday I found a recipe for a watermelon gazpacho, and I am so excited to try it out! It has watermelon, cucumbers peppers and shallots in it. I think it'l;l be really really good. Plus it go awesome reviews online. I might try it next week when Paul comes home. I also want to try the summer gratin recipe out on Paul. It was really good in class so I think he might eat it.

Hmm, not much else going on. I have my first day on the job all by myself today. I'm really excited/nervous. I hope nothing goes wrong. I figure if I just do what I'm supposed to do then I should be just fine! On that note, I'm gonna go back to imaginary shoe shopping (you know, the shopping you do for fancy shoes you can't afford)

Lots of Love,
~*Ery*~

P.S. My sunburn didn't peel!! Oh! And tomorrow I'm gonna try sugaring. More on that to come later.

Thursday, June 26, 2008

Sunburns

Gah! WHy does it take me months (literally) to post in this thing!?! Quick points to list off and describe.

1. I'm sunburned.

Why is it that I am sunburned? I'll tell you. Because silly me thought "Its really nice out. I'll go to beach for a littl ebit. Since I can only be there 1 hour, sunscreen will be unnecessary" Cut to me all sunburned on my back. Dumb. But the beach was absolutely wonderful! THe sun was shining, there was a warm, gentle breeze blowing, and the water was just lapping at the sand. Perfect. Unfortunately the water is also freeeeezing. Since we had such a long winter (snow until April, frost warnings until late May) the water hasn't had a chance to warm up at all. Normally by the end of June I'm in the lake swimming around. Not this year. So far I've made it about 4 steps out (up to my knees) and then my feet get so cold they start to hurt and I have to run back to shore feeling like an idiot for even trying.

2. My official summer is finally about to begin.

Yup yup. I have a test today in Intro to Film and then I am officially off scott-free. THank God. I love both of my classes this summer, but sometimes you just need a break. Also, I think the schedule of classes is enough to wear a person out. I mean, for a job you just go in for a spcific amount of time then go home. Classes start and stop with weird little intervals between them. Not enough time to get much done, but just enough time that you don't feel like staying on campus.

3. A quick note about FLYing.

I'm...still barely fluttering. My downstairs is neater (read: less cluttered) but I've pooped out on the babysteps. I got caught up in all the other stuff that I have to do, that I stopped doing them. Especially my morning routine. I liked it, I just stopped doing it. I'm not sure why, I just did. *Shrug* I think I'll just keep trying an eventually I'll get it. Maybe a calendar would help. DOn't know. I'm gonna start back up today though. I think I'll do part of my home blessing (its hard for me to do a whole hour at a times, so I've been splitting it up throughout the week.) I did clean up my dresser though. All by myself. It took 5 minutes to get the top looking more presentable, and I think if I do it again today I might even get it cleared off completely. Then I can re decorate it so it brings joy into the room when I look at it...YEA!!

4. I got a job at Super 8 as a front desk clerk!

Its so exciting because this is the first job that actually goes with my future plans towards a career. A bit of background info on "the 8" THe owner/manager/ is Jackie and she is super (pardon the pun) nice. SHe does all the scheduling herself, but gives us the fredom to switch shifts if needed. Matt is the first guy I worked with. He is a huge slacker and does just enough to not get himself fired, and that is it. He's really nice, but I can tell that he just doesn't care. DUstin, is the other guy I worked with. REally nice and motivated enough to care about what happens. He showed me all kinds of cool things on the computer and plus he's a huge food lover! Yea! His girlfriend, Armonda is really sweet too. She has this teeny tiny soft voice but she's absolutely hilarious. Paula is the girl whose place I'm taking (woot woot, for someone else calling her back!) The housekeepers seem nice, buts its definitly something I don't ever want to do. Ummm.... that's it on that front

5. Paul still hasn't seen anyone.

I don't want to nag him, but I still get worried that he doesn't have anyone to talk to. I mean, he could talk to me, but he doesn't want to. I worry that he's back to just hiding it away again because he seems more withdrawn. He's fallen back on old habits like not talking to me about work unless I expressly ask him and he's been really reticent about everything. Grr. Everything was getting so much better. Katie said something to me yesterday about how I might be resenting the time he spends bowling and golfing because I don't think he spends enough quality time with me. I hate to admit it...but I think she's right. I don't feel like he wants to do fun activities with me that are fun for both of us. He'd rather do fun things with his friends and then just watch t.v. with me. I enjoy watching telvision, but if that's the only thing we can do with each other, why bother? I can watch t.v. alone, I don't need a friend to do it with. I need a friend who will go try new things and do old activites with. I hate when I have to bring these things up. I feel like such a bitch. But I love him, and don't want to lose him over silly problems.

I wish I had more to talk about, but life has just kind of been cruising along lately. Nothing special happening or changing. Hopefully I'll get home in August this year. It kind of depends if the overage check comes through. I hate financial aid. Get this, over 8K has been put towards my account...and yet they haven't given me word of my overage. Even though I already paid for last year which is the year the financial aid was for. Stupid school.

Lots of Love,
~*Ery*~

Monday, May 26, 2008

Post-its

Babystep #4 - Write these things down on post-its ("these things" = baby steps #1 -3)

This was...easy? I'm not ahuge fan of writing things down to remind myself. I don't know why. I think it might be because if I see the note but don't do it I feel guilty. However, I did write the notes and have been doing the things on them so no guilt yet.

Today's babystep (#5) is to write down the negative things that my head tells me. Then, turn the bad thing into a good thing and re-write that down. I've been pretty positive so far today. I'm not a very negative person in general and I usually talk myself out of the mean things I say. So I'm gona try to do this one for the next couple of days just to get an accurate list of mean things I tell myself. Its funny that this is part of a cleaning/organizing program. I mean, how little must we think of ourselves that in order to clean a house you have to do self-affirmations?

It speaks to our society and all the horrible things it instills. You're not good enough, pretty enough, clean enough, etc. I know in the past I've gotten myself to the point of tears just because I am so depressed about the state of my house. I fin myself depressed and beaten down my my own thoughts so much that I can't get myself to clean, do homework or in any be productive. And in this way my mind would tell me how useess I was being. It's a horrible cycle. I'm glad FLYlady recognized it as a problem. This is just another reason I'm really excited about this. It's not just about cleaning. Its about owning yourself and loving you as you are.

I did my first home blessing today! Essentially it's an hour of cleaning or "blessing". You spend 10 minutes (or less) on a variety of different tasks to keep the house clean. So today I vacuumed, dusted, mopped, emptied the trash, wiped down the doors, polished the mirrors, shook out the rugs (entrances and bathrooms). And it only took me an hour. The key was to stop at 10 minutes and not be a perfectionist about it. Anything missed or in the corners would be cleaned another scheduled time. Easy. And the house looks good! It smells good! I havea shiny sink!

Lots of Love,
~*Ery*~

Saturday, May 24, 2008

Babystep #3

Well today's babystep was even easier than the first two. All I had to do was do the first two again. No prob. I almost forgot mysocks, but remembered when i hit the cold kitchen floor. Brrr!

So today was fun. Since I went to bed at 11 last night I was awake nice and early (9am). So I did babystep #3 and got downstairs and had some breakfast. After that I was just antsy since I didn't do much of anything on Friday. So I im'd Mya and Kayleigh for some fun outside.

We decided on a hike, which was great! We went to this river near town and just follwed the path. It was the perfect day for hiking, warm enough for short sleeves, but not too warm that wearing jeans (a must during tick season...ew) was uncomfortable. We saw at least 3 falls and were able to walk down near the bottom and feel the spray...aaaamaaazing! I love water. Its so powerful. Expecially when its moving like that. I mean this stuff was just chuggin' along. I can't wait until the lake water warms up just a tad more so I can go swimming again. That's a ways off though yet since it's been so darn chilly lately. Ugh, I can't wait for summer to get here.

In other news:
1) I went whitewater rafting. See above notes about loving water + getting tossed out of a boat and going down a falls on my but = awesome!
2) I lost my cell phone, and guess who has no insurance...me! This is a sucky thing no matter how I spin it. I'll have to extende my plan, lus pay a bunch for a phone and yada yada yada.
3) I'm taking my first summer classes. Pro Cook II and Intro to Film. Both are awesome, with awesome profs. I've had both professors before and they are awesome. Deb I had for Cook I. Austin was my professor way back when I was a freshman for Mythology. Its hard to believe, but its the summer before my senior year at college..eee! Anyway, I'm uber stoked for both of them.
4) Paul and I are happy. We had a fight on our rafting trip that resulted in me telling him that he needed to look into getting some professional help about his "talking/opening up" issues. It kills me that he would rather push all the bad feelings about whatever he's in the middle of, down into himself. I know its not healthy. I also know that I just cause him to feel them more often than he would like. So far he hasn't even looked into it, but eventually. I don't want to nag...but I'm getting fed up with being shut out. He either talks to me, or he talks to someone else, but he's gotta talk to someone.

Well that's my life in a nutshell right now. Daily updates to come!

Lots of Love,
~*ery*~

Friday, May 23, 2008

FLYing

Yesterday I started turning a page in my life. It all started with giving my kitchen sink a good shine.

Lately quite a few things have changed in my life. I'm down to one job for the first time in 2 years. I'm expecting a large overage check to come to me from the school (that will be used for bills). I've found that I have large amounts of time in my day that need to be filled up with doing something besides watching T.V. Which leads me to turning a page.

Since I have tons of time and tons of mess in my house I decided that the thing to do with my time is to really get organized and clean up my act. It's time to stop lying to myself about the house-cleaning. I've got to do it. I'm not upset about that. I've got time and I've got the ability. The only problem was that I didn't know where to start. The daunting thing about organizing a one bedroom, one and ahalf bath apartment is that I have no idea where to start. I mean, the kitchen is filthy. The dining area is cluttered. The living room is cluttered and as efficient as I can make it. The bedroom is disorganized and covered with clothes. And then the internet saved me! Yesterday I found this site.

It's a site about decluttering and cleaning the house. Which sounds kind of silly on its own, but I need the help. FLY stands for Finally Loving Yourself. Its cheesy. I love it. I feel like crap everytime I see the inside of my apartment. It's messy. I'm better than that. So I joined the site and am taking my first baby steps towards really loving myself and the home that I'm making. Its all about making a routine one day and one step at a time. I intend to make this a part of that experience. I need to have a place to let all my good and bad feelings about the routine. I always forget how easy this is when you've got something to talk about (or even when you don't)

So the page turning started last night around 11:30 with my sink.

Babystep #1 - Go Shine your Sink.

I've never felt so good about a sink my life. I bleached it (now it is draining better than ever!) and then scrubbed with baking powder (who knew!) then windex it and finished it off with a tiny bit of olive oil. It was so clean and shiny. I almost took a picture of it! Now all I have to do is wipe it out after I use it. Easy. And I felt so good this morning when I came downstairs and saw the clean sink that I did. There were dirty dishes everywhere and the garbage smelled, but the sink was clean! Such a little thing really did make me feel good.

Baby Step #2 - "Get Dressed to Lace up Shoes"

This is easier than the sink business. I got up, got in the shower and got dressed. I didn't sit around in jammies for hours. I'm completely ready to go. Socks and everything. I even put a little make-up on and did my hair. All before I did anything. Then I came downstairs and saw that sink. It was GREAT! I've already accomplished so much and its only the 2nd day. I was inspired. I made myself eggs for breakfast (with toast and jelly!).

Then I did some of the dishes. Except I only spent 15 minutes on them. Then I took a break. Then I spent another 15 minutes taking out all the garbages. Nice and de-cluttered.

Well this wasn't the most interesting of posts, but hopefully they'll get a little shorter as I do one each day. I'm so excited to see what Babystep #3 is!

Lots of Love,
~*Ery*~